Clearwater Weapons Charges Lawyer
The Law Offices of Thomas G. Tripp in Clearwater and St. Petersburg, Florida, serves clients in need of criminal defense legal services. I am an experienced criminal defense attorney who practices in the communities of St. Petersburg, Clearwater and Pinellas Park.
Call 727-544-8819 or submit the online form on this website to schedule an appointment at no charge, to review the facts of your case, your options under the law, and answer any questions you may have. I look forward to assisting you and will provide the individual attention and personalized service that you deserve.
If you or a family member is accused of a crime involving a firearm or had a gun with you during the commission of a crime, the penalties can be very serious. Weapons violations in Florida are subject to the most stringent weapons penalties in this country. If convicted, you could experience a mandatory minimum prison sentence that involves the loss of your freedom for the rest of your life.
Carrying a weapon during certain crimes such as aggravated assault can result in a sentence of 10 years, while discharging a weapon during the commission of a crime can result in a sentence of 20 years, or life in prison if an officer is involved in a homicide or robbery charge. Initial steps in preparing your defense could involve analyzing any search and seizure of evidence for improper law enforcement procedure. Detailed analysis of any eyewitness testimony and your lawyer’s ability to attack the eyewitness credibility can be crucial to your defense.
Florida sentencing guidelines take into account any prior convictions, the type of crime you are charged with and the facts and circumstances of an individual crime. The courts have discretion to vary from the guidelines and you need an experienced weapons violation attorney to discuss your options and how to best mitigate the charges against you.
St Petersburg Weapons Possession Offense Attorney Protects Your Rights
If you are a convicted felon in possession of a firearm, you can be charged with a second degree felony by virtue of holding a firearm in your hand. Anything that is not a weapon as defined in the state statute, but that can be used in a deadly manner such as a knife, bottle or object that causes serious bodily harm, can be deemed a weapon for purposes of charging a person with a weapons violation.
Contact my law firm at 727-544-8819 or fill out the online form on this website for a free, no pressure, initial case consultation. I will review your case and your options with their respective benefits and drawbacks, and any alternatives to the legal process that you may have.